Marvelous Monday: DIY Chandelier

I’m not crafty, but ya’ll know that. I think I’ve hammered that point pretty hard. My lack of coordination, patience and inability to follow directions make these projects nearly unbearable, which stinks because I want to be crafty. I want to create one of a kind knick-knacks for our home decor project instead of spend 20+ dollars for the same thing on Etsy. Don’t get me wrong, I love Etsy, but some of the stuff on there I can easily do myself, just need a bit of elbow grease and patience.

We don’t have too much left to do, decor wise,  to really bring my dream to life, but my home is lacking in few key areas; dining room lighting, living room wall space and bedroom furniture. My main focus right now is the dining room lighting. We currently have a very low hanging plastic light and it’s hideous.  So naturally, I start thinking chandeliers and did a bit of Pinterest searching for inspiration ideas.

This search didn’t really help much because the gorgeous chandeliers above cost at least a thousand dollars. Now, if I was rich enough to buy them, I would (and would probably have a stylist and interior decorator too!) But I’m a young twenty-something living in one of the most expensive metro areas in the country. Even if I was raking in the dough, the cost of living here is so high I wouldn’t really see the fruits of my labor. To satisfy my chandelier obsession, I’m going to…gasp…attempt a DIY chandelier. Now, before you automatically put the fire department/poison control on speed dial, let me first tell you that I’m not attempting to try the impossible here, I found a VERY easy project with a limited supply list. Sure, it’s not as elegant as the all crystal stunners above, but it’ll serve the purpose until I win the lottery.

Not only is this a home project, but this is also a great idea for those DIY brides out there who want to add a touch of glitz and glamour to their reception decor.

Entire tutorial and photos via Dollar Store Crafts. 

DIY Chandelier tutorial

What You’ll Need:

    • Hanging wire basket
    • 6 packages of Mardi Gras-style metallic beads (about 48 necklaces)
    • Light gauge wire (floral wire will work)
    • Spray paint
    • Wire cutters
    • Hot glue gun & sticks
    • Additional embellishments

For the step by step tutorial, check out the Dollar Store blog!

8 Comments

Filed under DIY, Flowers & Decor, how to make a chandelier, Inspiration Weddings, Interior Design

8 responses to “Marvelous Monday: DIY Chandelier

  1. I have that post saved to make sometime! I can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

  2. Love it! Do you have a Habitat for Humanity re-store in your area? If you do you should scope it out for old chandeliers. Sometimes you can find something with good bones and with a little spray paint and some added bling it could be gorgeous!

  3. That first chandelier is just glorious! Yay for Pinterest love too 🙂

  4. A million uses and a really pretty touch!

  5. I’m bookmarking this NOW. I just love the look of it!!

  6. Pingback: Friday’s Fab Finds: DIY Necklaces | A Realistic Wedding

Leave a comment