Marvelous Monday: The Doughnut

Happy Monday! If you are one of the many people who LOATHE Monday’s, I have something that should make them a bit more bearable. Or just give you an insatiable craving for a doughnut.

[Via]

Doughnuts are nothing new, they’ve been around since the late 1800’s. Although their exact origin is still being disputed, these sweet fried dough cakes have become a staple in our culture as the ultimate breakfast food and indulgence. They come in a vast variety of flavors, from glazed to bacon maple. But I’m not here to sell you on the greatness of doughnuts, because there’s a pretty big chance you already know how good they are 🙂 I’m just here to talk about their place at your wedding’s sweets bar.

Brides are constantly trying to find innovative ways to satisfy their guest’s sweet tooth, so every few years there is a new sweets trend that hits the wedding scene and sweeps the industry like a storm. A few years ago it was the cupcake, then the pie and now it’s the doughnut. As much as I love mini cupcakes and personal pies, they’ve been seriously overdone. I know that will happen with this new trend, but for now, I’m really digging what brides have come up with in terms of serving this ever popular breakfast treat!

On the Sweets Bar

The sweets bar is the perfect place to feature your favorite doughnut flavors for your guests to enjoy. Whether that means serving traditional glazed, chocolate sprinkled or even colored doughnuts to match your palette, these favorites will surely go fast.  If you are worried about their spelling, no need. Both variations (doughnut and donut) are perfectly acceptable. My definition? Donut is simpler, doughnut is fancier 🙂

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

As the Wedding Cake

Although most brides choose to serve doughnuts as an accompaniment on the sweets bar, some bold brides are forgoing the traditional cake and assembling their cake out of doughnuts! I’m a traditional girl and could never NOT have an actual cake, but I admire these ladies for their creativity!

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

As Decor

You’ve seen them featured on sweets bars and as cakes, but have you ever seen them used as wedding decor? Some couples show their enthusiam for their favorite fried food by using them as centerpieces and as props in their wedding photos. Some have even gone as far as hiring a circus doughnut truck to custom make these treats for each one of their guests. If I went to a wedding where there was a doughnut centerpiece, I’d be one VERY happy guest (with a very satisfied sweet tooth & tighter dress!)

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

Now I’m craving a doughnut. Anyone want to send one over?

6 Comments

Filed under DIY projects, Flowers & Decor, Food

6 responses to “Marvelous Monday: The Doughnut

  1. capclassique

    I’m totally craving one now! My bestie had a donut wedding cake which was a wholesale disaster – the co-ordinator just sort of stacked a bunch of donuts on a plate instead of adding flowers/doilies/chocolate drizzle as agreed and while we were having pictures the guests assumed they were just part of the snacks and polished most of the ‘wedding cake’ off before the bride and groom even saw it. Eek. But they were still yummy, and it made a funny story!

  2. So awesome. Can I re-do my wedding? I want to include donuts.

  3. I love the idea of using donuts as a late-night snack – it’s that perfect junk food!

  4. LOVE this idea!! I recently went to a wedding that featured a local ice cream vendor handing out scoops to everyone as a late night snack, the donut idea takes it one step further! I run a blog which discusses destination weddings in Mexico, and I will be linking back to this post today, please check it out! http://www.WedInMexico.com, and on Twitter @WedInMexico.

  5. ashleyvictoriaphotography

    Love this!!! Now I’m hungry…

  6. Alicia

    I love that you just did an entire post on doughnuts!! Especially since today I went to the grocery store pretty early in the AM and the smell of fresh doughnuts was completely overwhelming. I had to use every ounce of self discipline that I have to avoid them!

Leave a comment