A Charleston Wedding: Backstage Bridal Shoot & Morning Wine

Happy Monday! I’ve decided to kick off each week with a lovely wedding recap! Hope ya’ll had a great weekend!

Jumping right in where we left off, my hair was perfectly coiled and my make-up flawlessly applied so it was time to put on my short little “reception” dress for the beach bridal shoot! Since I already recapped the professional photos, I’m going to feature the funny, backstage photos that my best friend Emily took. [Every photo featured on this post was taken by Emily!]  As soon as Richard arrived, Emily, Liz, Melanie and I trekked to Sullivan’s Island to snap some pictures. The weather was absolutely perfect with a lovely ocean breeze. When we first arrived, Richard had me hide in a bush so he could get some gorgeous pictures with the leaves around me.

Emily and Liz were singing “I’m a survivor!” by Destiny’s Child, hence the laughing.

After Richard switched to the digital, he gave Liz his amazing film camera…

…who was told it was his “baby”, so she proceeded to rock and coo it.

After the shoot, we all headed back to the beach house. As soon as we walked in, we were greeted by a wave of people who were quick to put a glass of wine in each of our hands. I mean, this was just ONE of the booze refrigerators in the kitchen. Clearly, they like to party.

After a few hours of relaxing (and heavy drinking) we grabbed some nail polish so some of the girls who wanted to do their own manicures could! Shannon and Ashley, two of my other darling bridesmaids, showed up to join in on the fun! My “second” mother, Phyllis, bought a cake that said “OMG, YOU’RE GETTING MARRIED” (clearly) so that was served as well.

At about 11pm, I decided I should tuck myself in so all the girls left (besides the ones staying there) and Sue put Liz and I to bed. I tried to write my vows on my iPhone (remember how I put off the trial? Yep, also put off the vow writing). Of course, the adults took the party well into the early morning hours so we didn’t get a lot of sleep or solid writing done. But, let’s get serious, I wasn’t going to be sleeping much anyway.

I woke up bright and early at 5am so that I could finish my vows. As I sat on the porch with the sun rising, I looked over the vows I wrote the night before. They weren’t bad, but they weren’t good either. They were missing, well, ME, my voice and personality. It took a solid hour, but as soon as my brother returned from his run, they were finished. Honestly, I am still SO proud of my vows (I’ll share them in a later recap!) I’ve always been someone who does really well last-minute, so I’m not surprised. After I hit save, it was time to frantically get ready for our bridesmaids nail appointment and bridal luncheon. I had forgotten to iron the dress I was going to wear (thank you aunt Susie!) and I was having a mild anxiety attack trying to make sure I brought everything. Plus, my anxiety wasn’t helped by the fact that everyone else was freaking out too. Finally, by the time we had to be out the door, Phyllis already had the car started. Even with the “rush hour” traffic, we were the fourth and fifth to arrive.

Of course, though, I forgot all of the girl’s gifts so my aunt Sue had to drive downtown to drop them off. Safe to say, as soon as I walked in and the woman working asked me what I wanted to drink, Liz answered for me “WINE!” Neither Emily, Shannon or Melanie even batted an eyelash. As soon as I was a bit calmed down, I got to actually take in the salon. It was, seriously, SO cute. If you’re in Charleston, go to Ladies Pamper Spa!

So cute/trendy, right? Emily and I immediately got started on our nails while Liz went to get her manicure. After a few sips of wine, my anxiety had turned to pure excitement.

As soon as we were done, Melanie and Shannon hit the couch for theirs! Melanie decided on wine for breakfast, too. Which, obviously, is how I know we are friends.

Aren’t they so perty?

After my feet were done and shiny, it was time for my manicure (which, shockingly lasted until well after the honeymoon!)

I miss that hair color. I can’t wait to get it back.

I think I was giving Heidi some pre-bridal advice for her August nuptials!

Bridget and Ashley decided to primp up while waiting for us to finish. I love that Bridget is striking a pose, little diva you!

After a few hours (and a few glasses) our gorgeous nails were done and we snapped a group photo.

Don’t I have the prettiest friends ever?

In the next recap, I’ll be talking about the AH-MAYYY-ZING brunch we had & the rehearsal dinner (full with balloons and pirates). Again, THANK YOU Emily for documenting these parts of my wedding. They may not have been the “big” day, but these little moments are just as important, and dear, to me.

10 Comments

Filed under A Charleston Wedding, Bridal wear, Claire Elliot Wedding

10 responses to “A Charleston Wedding: Backstage Bridal Shoot & Morning Wine

  1. awwwwwwwww! you’re gorgeous! and obviously I chose you as a friend for the right reasons… multiple booze refrigerators? Yeah thats just mandatory! haha!

    i’m ever so lazy when it comes to wedding posts and recaps so yours are making me swoon! love it!

  2. “Killa. Love it. Hate it. Yeah, baby. Killa.” – Richard Israel. (Or at least mine and Liz’s impression of him.)

    Glad I could capture all the backstage fun!

  3. aw what a fun time with your ladies!!!

  4. OMG. That Rolleiflex? I die. I have one in my vintage camera collection, but it doesn’t work. LOVE this 🙂

  5. Gosh your friends are bee-you-tee-ful and I gotta try that spa. It just looks like a good time. Such a lovely bride. So glad you got those bridal portraits done.

  6. That looks like the most comfortable spa ever. Having those memories of times when you don’t have a professional photographer around you are extremely precious.

  7. SO fun. Love the spa — super chic! Did you just wear the shorter white dress for your pre-wedding bridal shoot, or did you wear it to your reception as well? I know I’m going to be the kind of bride who falls in love with more than one dress so I’m always curious to see how other do it… she says as someone is not even close to being engaged yet…. bahahaha.

  8. Super pics by Em!! All those prewedding moments seem so memorable and it’s so great that you were able to capture them. And that salon is gorgeous, btw!

  9. Looks like the loveliest day with your maids! You can just tell you all are smitten with each other 🙂

  10. Pingback: A Charleston Wedding: Fried Green Tomatoes & a Faulty Bridge | A Realistic Wedding

Leave a Reply

