What I’m Loving Wednesday: Lavish Outdoor Receptions

I’m thinking I should rename this series “Pinterest Wednesdays” because I’m finding that I spend a better part of my Tuesday evenings finding stuff I love on that site to feature on Wednesdays! I don’t know how I ever lived before Pinterest, do you? (All photos courtesy of Pinterest).

Hopping right in today, I have some INCREDIBLE outdoor reception ideas to share with ya’ll. As you know, I’m the number 1 fan in the outdoor wedding club and I don’t ever see that changing. You could be getting married in the fanciest ballroom ever and it still would not trump the  natural beauty of the outdoors. However, a tree is a tree and on your special day you want something a little bit more eye catching right?  Something a little bit more like this?

Or this?

That’s what I thought. The sky is the limit when it comes to creating absolutely magical, incredible and lavish outdoor receptions. One of my favorite outdoor reception decor ideas is hanging lanterns and candles, like the STUNNING set ups below.

This one is my ABSOLUTE favorite, ever.

I love the mix up of the hanging votives and the lanterns. What a dream!

Although the classic candle/lantern look is incredible, you don’t have to revert to that just because it’s a popular go-to. Make your outdoor reception YOURS by hanging paper lanterns in your colors, using string lights to save budget or even creating your own makeshift tent. One of my favorite ways to spruce up an outdoor space is to feature a lounge area with comfy couches, funky antique end tables and fun throw pillows. It’s the perfect way to really make your guests feel at home!

I’m obsessed with the glowing fountain, it adds such a romantic vibe to the whole set up. I know i’m not the only one in the world who is absolutely smitten with decked out outdoor receptions, but I’d love to hear your perspective!

Would you rather have a lavish outdoor wedding or a glamorous indoor reception? All thoughts, comments and ideas welcome!

7 Comments

Filed under DIY, DIY lighting, Inspiration Weddings, What I'm Loving Wednesday

7 responses to “What I’m Loving Wednesday: Lavish Outdoor Receptions

  1. I LOVE PINTEREST! What did we do? I don’t know!? It’s like what did we do before the cell phone?!
    Great post-the second photo is great!

  2. The photography in this post is AMAZING

  3. I’m a sucker for outdoor weddings too and these are all gorgeous – thanks for sharing!

  4. Ughh you’re making me wish our pavilion wedding would be even MORE outdoors. I die over the lanterns, hanging votives, all of it. Just.. breathtaking.

  5. Does anyone know where that second photo was taken? I’ve been dreaming of a place like that and it is absolutely beautiful.

  6. Love outdoor receptioins! That second picture is gorgeous!!

  7. Pingback: Lovely Lights «

Leave a Reply

