Real Wedding: Molly & Greg

HI EVERYONE!! I’m sorry about the all caps but I’m just so excited to be blogging. I’ve missed ya’ll. Plus, I have the rest of the incredible images from Molly & Greg’s Pensecola nuptials, which I know is the real reason you’re excited I’m back 🙂 So without further ado, I bring you the gorgeous couple on their very special day photographed by the fabulous Ashley Victoria Photography and styled by Molly & Megan K Events!

But before we get to the rest of the photos, I must share the ADORABLE story on how they met & how he proposed, from the gorgeous blushing bride herself!

“We met in 7th grade in St. Marys, GA when his dad was stationed to Kingsbay, GA.  We were friends and he dated my best friend.  In 9th grade he moved to Maryland but we stayed friends and always saw each other when he came to visit soccer friends in St. Marys.  His family regulary vacationed to Key West and one year they had a lay over in Jacksonville (only 30 min away!!) and my mom drove me to the airport to see him.  He brought me a pair of Kino sandals from Key West.  Ever since then we’d talk about going to Key West together.  Freshman year of college, we had both ended our relationships with our highschool sweethearts just in time to plan Spring Break together to Key West.  After that trip we talked, emailed and wrote letters weekly.  By Christmas we had decided that we wanted to be in a relationship despite being so far apart.  Greg was in New London, CT and I was in Macon, GA.  After 2 and a half more years of dating and many plane trips to visit each other, we both graduated and Greg was commissioned into the Coast Guard and sent to a cutter in Virginia Beach, VA.  I followed.

In the summer of 2009, we had been dating almost 3.5 years and living in the same city for a year.  Greg told me his mom’s friend makes jewelry and I need to figure out my ring size so she can make me a ring.  I got my right hand ring sized and of course got my left hand sized too.  I was always skeptical about the jewelry making friend, mostly because I had no jewelry from her.  Greg told me she made it but he forgot to bring it home.  In October 2009, we were going to Annapolis to visit his parents for a sailing weekend.  It was going to be our first overnight.  He was rushed and upset that I was late (which is always), but I joked it off.  Turns out he had to get to Annapolis before the jewelry store closed to get my ring.  We didn’t make it in time, but his mom picked it up.  We ended up not sailing either because the weather wasn’t sunny and I was sick.  One night after dinner I wanted ice cream to sooth my sore throat.  We went downtown Annapolis to get ice cream and while looking over the Bay, Greg proposed.  It was perfect because after 4 years I was surprised!  Then we went to get ice cream. :)”

I loved the classic style of everything, Molly’s elegant dress and pearls and the way she wore her hair.  I mean, I was there, it was 2011, but looking back at some of the pictures I took, I feel like I’m looking at portraits from the 30s or 40s.  She just has that timeless elegance about her.

The Mustin Beach Club was the perfect location for Molly’s sailing-inspired reception. Molly works for an event planner so she had those details down perfectly. Everything went right along with her sailing-inspired theme.

Molly’s choice color palette was navy and white.  Everything had a nautical theme, from the knots on the programs to the sailor-inspired drinks, to the tables named after ships that the men in the family have been on… everything was spot on.  I also thought it was great that she incorporated something from their engagement by building an ice cream stand to hold their favors.

Congratulations Molly & Greg! I wish you a lifetime of happiness! For more information on Ashley Victoria photography, check out her blog & website!

3 Comments

Filed under Bridal wear, Flowers & Decor, Planning, Real Weddings

3 responses to “Real Wedding: Molly & Greg

  1. Would love if you could mention Megan K. Events decked out Molly’s wedding with decor and flowers 🙂 Great post and beautiful wedding!

Leave a Reply

