The Volkman Home Makeover: The Living Room

We are finally making some headway on the home decor, thanks to a weekend of no real plans which allowed us to finish unpacking. It’s amazing how gorgeous a room looks when it’s not completely covered in boxes.

YIPPEE!

Now the hard part, finding out how to fill the space! For starters, we are going to begin with some sitting furniture. I found the most amazing couch + love seat and a darling “workman’s bench” at VCF. The whole set is a bit steep, but in my opinion, completely worth the cost. A solid couch set can last you years! Now all it needs is the tooshy comfort approval (and husband bank approval) and it’s ours!

Darling, right? I want to keep with a light beige and walnut motif with bright accent colors like yellow and red.

[Images via Pinterest]

This chair, the vintage suitcases and amazing rug, which all cost more than one month’s rent, would make all of my furniture dreams come true. I could totally see myself enjoying a nice cocktail or two on my fancy vintage yellow arm-chair.

Now that my furniture is set, it’s time to figure out how I’m going to decorate all of that blank wall space. Luckily, we have a pretty good selection of art up already but I found some amazing prints and random wall decor on Overstock that will fill in the gaping holes.

Hand painted red flower set, $99.99

Jacquiel Flower Dance, $87.99

Howard Miller Vercelli Wall Clock, $56.99

Lastly, all it needs is a gorgeous plant and we are set! (A girl can dream, right?)

6 Comments

Filed under My Realistic Life

6 responses to “The Volkman Home Makeover: The Living Room

  1. you’re going to have so much fun decorating!

  2. I’ve always loved antique trunks and have a couple in my living and bedroom. These are especially enchanting . . .

  3. LOVE this post! We’ve been in our house for almost two years, and I am just NOW getting on the decorating bandwagon. I am actually headed to the thrift store/home depot after work today to get started on my DIY headboard! 😉

  4. I’m so jealous that you get to decorate!!! The couches you picked out look great: modern and versatile (I’d be changing the pillows constantly for fun)!

  5. We’re in the middle of slowing decorating as well…. it gets so overwhelming. Wish you could just buy it all at once when you move in right?

  6. Pingback: Howard Miller Vercelli

Leave a Reply

