The Volkman New Home Makeover: The Kitchen

We are moving on Monday!! And what I’m about to show you is what our living room looks like now. Before you see it, you must understand how much courage it took me to post this photo. If you want to submit me to Hoarders, I won’t be upset. It’s an utter amazement how myself, my husband and our 2 furry babies have managed to live amongst the clutter.

Gasp. I know. This is horrific. BUT, on the plus side, we ARE moving on Monday. And I refuse to live in clutter anymore so all of next week will be spent unpacking, decorating and being the cutest little housewife you ever did meet. Housewife with a full time job, 2 blogs, 2 dogs and pre-requisite dietetic classes. Now add interior decorator to this list because I am hitting the decoration of our new house HARD for a few reasons.

  1. It’s our first home as a married couple. Sure we are only renting it, but it’s our first actual home as the Volkmans. No more shared walls and elevators for us!
  2. We’re both in a place, financially, where we can actually spend money on decorations. As young 20 somethings, we’ve been living off furniture hand me downs and flea market finds. It’ll be nice to splurge on some fabulous matching couches and a new dining room set.
  3. I’m utterly obsessed with designs, details and vintage accessories. I fully blame my wedding, but I wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂
So what am I thinking, design and decor wise? Why, let me show you in the form of inspiration boards! I’m going to make this a weekly series on Fridays (don’t worry, fab finds will be back!). This week? My favorite room of the house, of course…the kitchen!

Kitchen:

[Images 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 & 7]

Our new kitchen has all white cabinetry and appliances, which immediately has me thinking of shabby, vintage cottage chic with milk glass vases, white frames, tea cups and fabulous handmade signage. Plus, I’m also DYING over this amazing rug from C & B.

I want my new kitchen (which has AMAZING natural lighting) to be a room I never want to leave. My current kitchen in my apartment is nice enough, has a cute little island and updated appliances, but is SO SMALL with no windows. I want a kitchen that reflects who I am as a person and a cook. I spent my summers growing up on an island with a beach cottage and honestly, that’s where I’m happiest. So when I saw the opportunity to create a cottage like atmosphere in my kitchen, I immediately went for it. The best part? E doesn’t care, as long as I’m happy and continue to make him delicious meals!

Have an AMAZING Memorial Day weekend friends!!

5 Comments

Filed under Friday Fab Finds, Interior Design

5 responses to “The Volkman New Home Makeover: The Kitchen

  1. E

    Can you perhaps not make our house look like two gay men live there. Not that there is anything wrong with that…

  2. You sound so excited about the moving!!!! Can’t wait to see some pics of the new house… please 😉 Have a great weekend!!! xo

  3. So your living room kind of looks like how our place looked when we move so no worries love; it’s completely normal 🙂 I cannot wait to see how you decorate! It’ll be gorgeous I am sure!! xo

  4. I love white in kitchens!!!! I can’t wait to see everything you do in the new house!

  5. I want a kitchen like this one too!

Leave a Reply

