Wednesday Wedding Wonders: Great Gatsby Inspiration Board

I know I’m not the only girl in the world who is utterly obsessed with The Great Gatsby. I first read the book while I was in high school and of course, like every misguided and angsty 16-year-old, did not fully appreciate it for the literary genius that it is.  Now, as I’m older and much wiser, I read the novel and am moved, sometimes to tears, with the incredible symbolism and the inherent sadness of the characters. You can’t help but relate a little to Nick’s devotion and Gatsby’s extravagance. Along with the incredible writing, I’m also quite obsessed with the 20’s, so the setting and theme of the novel also keeps me incredibly intrigued.  To pay homage to this fabulous book (and even more fabulous era) I created an inspiration board dripping with regale colors, 20’s fashion and glittering jewels.


[Images: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 8]

Who said your favorite book couldn’t serve as the inspiration for your whole day?

8 Comments

Filed under Color Scheme, Flowers & Decor, Inspiration Weddings

8 responses to “Wednesday Wedding Wonders: Great Gatsby Inspiration Board

  1. Lindsay McLaurin

    I absolutely LOVE this post! The Great Gatsby is one of my all time favorite books.

  2. Alicia

    Love this especially that shot of all those dresses!

  3. Those 1920s-inspired dresses = perfection!

  4. THE-LOUDMOUTH

    The Great Gatsby is my favorite book, and a lovely movie!

    The-Loudmouth.com
    @theloudermouth
    Photo Giveaway

  5. How fun!! I’d love to be transported back to this time and attend some of the fabulous parties they had all dressed up in 1920’s garb!!

  6. Wow, this is such a great inspiration! I´ve never actually read this book, but you´ve just made me want to!
    By the way, your blog is AMAZING. I love it and I´ve just added you to my blogroll!

    xx Ivana

    http://styleinthecityen.blogspot.com

  7. Pingback: Thursday Purseday: What a Dream! | A Realistic Wedding

Leave a Reply

