Marvelous Monday: Cake Stands & Tea Plates

[Via Country Living]

Now that all my big stuff is taken care of [WAHOO!] its time to focus on the little details. However, these little details are some of the most important decisions I have to make for the wedding! Not only do these details add up, making one large task to focus on, but they are the pieces of the wedding the guests will see for most of the night. Plus, the ornate little details are often heavily captured by the photographer.  With that being said, I’ve turned into a slight perfectionist, making sure every single piece is exactly perfect [or as close to it as I can get!] One of the main tasks on my plate right now, ironically, is finding a plate! [Cake plate, that is!] We’re having a gorgeous, vintage inspired wedding cake and it needs just as gorgeous of a plate to sit on. I’m all about the details in my wedding, so I’m trying to find a stand that reflects the vintage, historical vibe of my day without breaking the bank or doing it myself. [I’m trying hard to avoid those tasks!].  Cake stands are also incredibly versatile as well, so I’m trying to find a couple that I can use for different purposes! [See below!]

DSC_0713

DSC_0714

Lace cake plate by Luna and Chloe Weddings

Photo by Clara French, stands featured on Twig & Thistle
Aren’t these a riot? I love the bright colors.

Bright milk glass stands via Ruffled Blog

Vintage pewter stand via Planet Cake

DSC_0640

DSC_0641

Black lace cake plates by Luna and Chloe Weddings
This stand is not only gorgeous, but really easy to make! A perfect DIY accessory to your wedding.

Draped lace cake plate via Wedding Ideas for Kerry

Simple and colorful glass stands via The Sweetest Occasion

Antique china cake stand via Go Green Blog
I’m loving the looks of this.  Very vintage and classy!

Mix of carved glass cake plates via House to Home
These would be perfect for a sweets bar! Place you cake on the highest one, and then scatter the remaining desserts on the smaller, different size plates for a unique and vintage look.

DIY Bird stands via iDiy

Possibly the coolest thing about cake stands is that they can be used for just about anything! Don’t rule them out if you aren’t having the standard wedding cake, these gorgeous pieces can be used as a centerpiece, for your sweets bar, and even to display place cards and flowers!

Tiered stands are perfect for little sweets, like cupcakes, cookies, brownies and merignes! [12, 3 & 4]

Showcase your place cards & flower displays on glass & pewter cake plats! [Via Wedding Bee]

Desserts and hors’ devours are perfect on top of milk glass cake and tea stands! [Via]

I love the look of this cake stand as a centerpiece. Perfect for plush and large floral arrangements. [Via the Knot]

5 Comments

Filed under Flowers & Decor, Food

5 responses to “Marvelous Monday: Cake Stands & Tea Plates

  1. Oh that bottom one – bouquet on the cake stand – L.O.V.E!!! I really need to get myself a cake stand or three!! Gorgeous collection!!

  2. Cindy

    The black lace one is my fave!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Marvelous Monday: Cake Stands & Tea Plates « A Realistic Wedding -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

