Wednesday Wedding Wonders: Bridal Market, Make-Up and Hair-Dos

I wish, more than anything, that I could fill my post with first person fabulous updates from Bridal Market in NYC. However, I was unable to attend this year so in order to get my fix of all of the gorgeous-ness going on, I had to really up my stalking. Luckily, as the event transpired, some of my favorites on twitter (who were lucky to be there!) made my stalking easy by posting lengthy and photo filled posts that featured all of the amazing dresses on the runway.  Below are my top five and if I had the chance (and budget) I would buy and prance around the house in them.

Bridal Market 2010 - Monique Lhuillier :  wedding bridal market 2010 Val1708 _VAL1708

Monique Lhullier [photo via Miss Penguin of Wedding Bee]

Bridal Market 2010 - Priscilla of Boston :  wedding bridal market 2010 Val8669 _VAL8669

Priscilla of Boston [photo via Miss Penguin of Wedding Bee]
I would DIE to have this as my reception gown!

Bridal Market 2010 - Rivini :  wedding bridal market 2010 Val5648 _VAL5648

Rivini [Photo via Miss Penguin of Wedding Bee]

Priscilla of Boston [Photo via Alison of The Knotty Bride]

Keep reading to see my favorite pick, thus far, and some great make-up and hair pictures!

and my favorite, the most gorgeous gown to ever be created. (Totally my opinion, but it’s my blog, so ha!)

Bridal Market 2010 - Christos :  wedding bridal market 2010 Val5014 _VAL5014

Bridal Market 2010 - Christos :  wedding bridal market 2010 Val5039 _VAL5039

Christo’s [Photos via Miss. Penguin on Wedding Bee]
This dress is so amazingly crafted, from the soft organza petal detailing to the handmade floral sash. I just die. This dress is the queen of wedding dresses.

Thank you to all of the lovely people out there who shared these beautiful finds with us so that all of us can virtually ohhh and ahhh over gorgeous bridal fashions! Although I could stare at dresses forever, it’s time to move onto the next topic at hand: bridal makeup and hair!

Since I’m still very much undecided on what I’m doing for my hair (all I know is that I want an updo), I found this to be a perfect way to kill two birds with one stone. 1. Find hairstyles that I’m going to try out and 2. Feature them here! I’m also seeking out some suggestions from other wavy/curly hair girls as to what they recommend.

Fortunately, when it comes to the money-maker, aka my face (har har) I have a make-up artist already hired who will be handling all of that. As a girl who doesn’t wear much make-up at all, and someone who isn’t very great at applying it, I knew a professional was the only way to go. I do, however, realize many brides would prefer to do their own make-up or don’t have it in their budget to hire a professional. Whichever you chose,  I’m featuring a few must-have tips from some recent brides as well as pictures of their beautiful faces once it was done!

Updos

I absolutely love the look of a bride with an elegant updo, especially when paired with some fabulous earrings. However, I’m also a huge fan of the “messy ponytail/bun” and I think this can look equally sexy. Below are a few of my favorite updos, including one from the real wedding of my bff Emily.

[via]

[via]

[via]

[via]

[via]

and now onto Emily’s fabulous hairdo, courtesy of Linczak Photography.

Make-Up

As I stated above, I’m slightly disabled when it comes to make-up so I’m excited to feature tips from a bride who did her own, as well as one who also got her’s done. Before I get to those good-as-gold pointers, I’m featuring some gorgeous make-up looks on two different sides of the spectrum; light and natural and big and bold. I’m either going to go light/natural or big/bold, there’s no middle for me. So hopefully seeing both ends of the spectrum give me a better idea!

Light-natural look

Lightly colored lipsticks, soft eye shadows, bronzer or rose-colored blushes with a dab of mascara are usually all you need when going for a natural look.

[Via]

[via]

and now some photos and tips from real bride, McKay Pittman, who chose to have her look, natural and bright, done by a friend. Photography courtesy of Our Labor of Love.

I know how to use mascara and that’s about it, luckily I had a friend who knows how to do make-up. When choosing my look, I just wanted to look like a better version of myself. It would’ve been weird to look back at the pictures and see a totally made up face when I hardly ever wear anything. I just wanted to step it up a tad so that I was done up enough that it translated well in the pictures. My advice would be to stay true to yourself and your look, but be mindful that you may need a bit more than normal for the photographs.

Bold look

I’m toying with the idea of a bright/bold look for my wedding make-up. Since it’s not my usual look, it will really signify the importance of the event. I also have really bright eyes and bold eye make-up really bring them out. Bright lips and dark eyes are the way to go if you want a bigger look on your day.

[via]

[via]

[via]

and now photos and tips from recent bride Emily Burwell, who chose to go for a smoky/dark eye and bold lips on her big day.

Practice at least 2 times before the wedding day and time yourself. If it takes you 30 minutes at home, give yourself 45 minutes to an hour on your wedding day. If you’re not that great with make up go to a make up counter or Sephora (they do it for free) and get a tutorial. You don’t have to spend lots of money on expensive make up, just be sure you know how to apply it. Apply more than you think you’ll need, but don’t make yourself look like a clown. Also, take pictures of yourself in various lighting situations after your practice at home. Test out how your make up looks outside in the daytime and inside in a darkened room.

Whew! Probably my longest post in a while. But we have to look amazing on our big days, right?

6 Comments

Filed under Bridal wear, Inspiration Weddings

6 responses to “Wednesday Wedding Wonders: Bridal Market, Make-Up and Hair-Dos

  1. Thanks for featuring me, Claire Bear!! I say you go BOLD on your wedding day 🙂

  2. i have to say i’m loving some of these bold looks!!! do it, girl!

  3. For some reason I’m actually diggin’ the coal eyes – they’re not nearly as racoon-like as one might expect. Loves!! Great post!!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Wednesday Wedding Wonders: Bridal Market, Make-Up and Hair-Dos « A Realistic Wedding -- Topsy.com

  5. Alicia

    I did my own makeup and I was nervous about it but I think it was a success!! Just make sure you have primer and apply a little darker than normal for pictures!

  6. Your fave dress is mine too. Gorgeous!

    I’m picky about my make up and since we had a destination wedding, I decided to do my own. I love all the dramatic looks, Emily looks so great!

Leave a Reply

