Friday Finds: Reception Gowns & My Vintage Twist on this Modern Favorite

Unless you live under a rock [or aren’t a bride, and in that case, I don’t’ fault you for not knowing this], there’s a great chance you’ve heard of or seen the reception dress trend. Or as my darling coordinator calls it, “the getaway gown.” This is sort of a newer trend and many of the reception dresses I’ve seen reflect this with more modern silhouettes and textures. However, as you all know, I’m a self proclaimed ‘vintage queen’ and my upcoming nuptials will reflect this.  Since I’m really, REALLY keen on the reception dress idea, I’ve been searching day and night [well only day, but wanted to emphasize the exasperated searching] to find a shorter dress that has more of a vintage-y feel with lace accents and a looser, more flapper-esque shape [don’t you love my descriptive words?]  Take a peek at a few of my favorite get a way vintage gowns.

Tavi by Melissa Sweet

[I love how the sleeves add a vintage touch and the lace brings such a gorgeous elegance to it!]

Trish by Priscilla of Boston Vineyard Collection

Edmonton by Dolly Couture

[I love the bright red lips and shoes! Feels so 50’s!]

Seriya by Ines di Santo, featured on Martha Stewart Weddings

[I love the beaded mesh neckline and the lace skirt. So very vintage and elegant!]

Oscar de la Renta, featured on Martha Stewart Weddings

[There is everything I want in life in this dress. Light pink underlay, lace embroiderment, a flower embellishment. Such perfection!]

Ulla Maija, featured on Martha Stewart Weddings

Sue Wong Embellished Strapless Sheath Dress

Sue Wong Embellished Strapless Sheath Dress, Nordstrom

[I think I found my reception dress!!]

1950’s lace dress, by Cabaret Vintage

[This dress is to die for. So playful, flirty, elegant and vintage!]

and the finale…

Reem Acra, featured on Martha Stewart Weddings

[I LOVE the long train on this short gown. For me, it gives off an old royalty vibe. I love how the lace and flower add a vintage touch. Gorgeous. Just gorgeous.]

6 Comments

Filed under Bridal wear

6 responses to “Friday Finds: Reception Gowns & My Vintage Twist on this Modern Favorite

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Friday Finds: Reception Gowns & My Vintage Twist on this Modern Favorite « A Realistic Wedding -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Add A Vintage Touch

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Friday Finds: Reception Gowns & My Vintage Twist on this Modern Favorite « A Realistic Wedding -- Topsy.com

  4. Lovely! My fave is the Ulla Maija. I don’t think I could (and didn’t) wear a 2nd gown though b/c I wouldn’t want to take off my first one!!!! *Greedy*

  5. Anne

    I am trying to search for the dress on Vintage Cabaret but cannot find it. Please help! 😦

  6. Anne

    I am in love with the Cabaret vintage dress but cannot find it anywhere! 😦

Leave a Reply

