Our E-sesh: Don’t let the rain ruin your parade!

It just hit me that I have not shared my engagement photo session with my darling blog fans and friends! Before I feature my favorite pictures, I want to share a brief back story of our engagement session.

First off, our engagement photographer, Leah from L Hewitt photography, rocked our socks off by agreeing to meet with us such last-minute. Due to the strict deadline of our save the dates, we had to shoot the Saturday after I got back from my Italian vacation. [I got back on Wednesday]. Although I was still a bit jet-lagged and missing Italy, I was thrilled for this photo shoot. Although Elliot was a little bit more nervous [he’s not an in front of the camera kind of guy], I could tell he was relieved and excited to get these photos done.  So there we were, excited and eager for our first photography session as an engaged couple. I picked out my outfits [that complimented my Italian tan perfectly] and helped Elliot pick his, all perfectly conducive to the early July unbearable heat that was predicted.  All was fine and dandy until the Friday before, when the weather gods decided it was going to rain. Not just rain, monsoon, the day of our shoot.

To say we were disappointed is an understatement. However, Leah voiced that the rain would not be a concern, so we trusted her artistic genius and carried through. We ran to Kohls to purchase some cheap, yet chic, umbrellas and tried to remain positive. And just as the WG predicted, it was pouring by the time we got to our site, King Street in Old Town, Alexandria. Although I was upset [my hair does NOT fare well in humidity OR rain], she showed up right on time and we got right to business. And honestly, it was one of the best times I’ve ever had! Besides the one time where it was cats and dogs pouring and we had to take refuge in a Starbucks, the rain wasn’t too heavy. The light that comes with rain and overcast also allows for some remarkable photography, who knew? So how did the pictures turn out? Well, just see for yourselves! [Click on any image to make it larger!]

6 Comments

Filed under Claire Elliot Wedding, Planning

6 responses to “Our E-sesh: Don’t let the rain ruin your parade!

  1. Lovely! It’s a Badgley Mischka fest today! 😉

  2. I love these umbrella pics! I think the rain is ultra romantic (now that I don’t live in Seattle and have had a break from it! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Wedding Wednesday Wonders: A Picture Perfect Alexandria E-Sesh « A Realistic Wedding

  4. Pingback: A look back…2010 was good to me! | The Realistic Nutritionist

Leave a Reply

