My Floral Fixation.

I’m a flower fanatic, really. I always have a fresh bouquet in my house of assorted varieties and my fiance knows the true way to my heart is through a bouquet [and diamonds, but that’s beside the point]. Growing up, flowers were always my favorite part of the weddings I went to. I loved seeing the different kinds and colors in the centerpieces, on the cakes and in the bouquets. And like most girls, I fantasized about how the flowers were going to look at my wedding. Now that it’s time to put my floral fantasies to action, I’m seeing firsthand that this task is not as simple as I had once imagined. Either way, I’m in flower heaven and my fixation on florals has only intensified! Here are my top inspiration points. All photos are courtesy of The Knot.

Centerpieces

[note: just focus on the flowers, not the actual set up. My wedding will have different vases, centerpieces, etc.]

The couple collected over 100 pieces of vintage milk glass to hold peonies, ranunculus, and sweet peas. Pom-poms on the tables upped the fun factor.

Small black candelabras with feathers, hydrangeas, and roses topped many of the tables. Candles and petals upped the romance.

A silver vase filled with white hydrangeas and peonies served as the focal point of each reception table.

Conscious of the earth and their budget, the couple used the same tall candlesticks of baby’s breath that lined the ceremony aisle as their reception centerpieces.

A footed vase filled with hydrangeas, phalaenopsis orchids, and calla lilies topped the head table, while lower arrangements of the same flowers decorated the others

Love the hint of blue!

Amy wanted the flowers to be “colorful and messy.” The centerpieces, which were created by one of Amy’s good friends, were a mix of flowers in hues that complemented the quilts.

There’s nothing more southern than a mason jar!

Bridal Bouquets

Ashaki carried a hand-tied nosegay of white hydrangeas, roses and dendrobium orchids, along with yellow freesia and statice. The arrangement was tied off with a pearl wrap.

For a modern twist on the classic calla lily bouquet, Jennifer had her florist accent her favorite flower with a collar of yellow freesia.

I love the white and yellow layered look.

A star-shaped brooch on the wrap added sparkle to Jessica’s bouquet of roses, orchids, and calla lilies.

This bouquet was meant for me! White, yellow & delicously vintage!

Alex‘s eight bridesmaids carried bouquets of purple hydrangeas and peach-colored accents provided a pop of color against the champagne dresses.

I love this blue, it matches my bridesmaid dresses perfectly!

The bride‘s bouquet was comprised of ivory Vendela and yellow Skyline roses with stephanotis and dusty miller, the light blue adding a pop of color to the blooms.

Amanda carried a hand-tied bouquet of blue hydrangeas, yellow roses and white daisies.

This might actually be my favorite!

Bridesmaid bouquets

Elle’s bridesmaids carried simple bouquets of creamy white roses, which contrasted nicely with their classic, black dresses from Alix and Kelly.

Posies of all-white roses provided a stark contrast against the chocolate-brown bridesmaid dresses.

There is something so elegant about simple white roses.

Alexis‘ bridesmaids held bouquets featuring flowers in all shades of yellow and white.

The maid of honor carried a bouquet of pale blue and cream hydrangea and stephanotis tied with blue satin ribbon.

Love the idea of each bridesmaid carrying a different variety of white flowers!

Each bridesmaid carried a different bunch of one kind of white flower -- gerbera daisies, peonies, mini calla lilies, or roses.

Grace’s design experience inspired her choice for the bridesmaid bouquets: Simple, yellow arrangements with a clean, round shape.

I love the romantic/classic feel of yellow roses!

Leave a comment

Filed under Flowers & Decor

Leave a Reply

